Australian Facetors' Guild Limited

Knocking sound

• 24 Feb 2023 4:33 PM
    Message # 13109276

Hi, I am new to faceting and have acquired a gemmasta gf4 secondhand. I can hear a knocking sound when it runs and the top of the 240v motor gets hot along with the belt pulleys. ( THE EMPTY ONE ).

I have changed the belt twice. Sprayed silicone oiled and cleaned what I can get to. It runs at uneven speeds, stops for no reason and starts again on its own. 

I imagine this means I should change the bearings and look at the wiring which visually looks intact and sound. i fully intend to swap over to 12v and have most of the parts but I am longing for a technical diagram with part names and instructions. Can anyone direct me to these? I have googled but without success.

I am in the sticks so its easier for me to fix it myself but I have to send away for parts.  I have the gf3 manual as photos but it doesnt address bearings. I would also like to know  what theyellow light on the front of it is for.

• 25 Feb 2023 7:47 AM
    Reply # 13110099 on 13109276

Might pay to check the brushes in the motor. Worn brushes can cause many of the symptoms you describe. Could also be the control pot (speed controller) has bad contacts.

Last modified: 25 Feb 2023 7:52 AM | Anonymous member
  • 25 Feb 2023 8:53 AM
    Reply # 13110167 on 13109276

Take the belt off the motor pulley and run the motor. The lap spindle should easily spin by hand, if not, then it may be a bearing issue, also you will find out if the motor still runs hot or not.

• 25 Feb 2023 6:52 PM
    Reply # 13110325 on 13109276

The stop start sounds like the bushes in the motor are worn out.  My electric drill did that when it wore out.   

dont run the motor until you replace the bushes or you could kill the speed controller.

Gemcuts do 12v conversions for the GF4.  Brian bought the rights to GemMaster and last I heard (at the Muster) he was working on bringing out a new model.